High Point Awards

Region 17 High Points | WAHO Trophey | AHA Awards | EC Awards

Congratulations to all of these Region 17 members
on their very successful year!

Region 17 High Point Program

    Program Rules
    Entry Form

2015 Region 17 High Point Awards

  … awarded at the Region 17 Spring Meeting, March 19, 2016

A/HA/AA Halter

Sponsored by Rae-Dawn Arabians
WH Araby & Lisa Chovin
Reserve Champion
C Jolyne & Lorne Robertson

A/HA/AA Western

Sponsored by McLean & Shaw Insurance
Courage Under Fire+// & Sandra Daniel
Reserve Champion
WG Kahill & Mackenzie Leubner

A/HA/AA English

Sponsored by Willow Acres
ERA Lil Wayne & Marijke Kalisvaart
Reserve Champion
Center of Attention & Mackenzie Leubner

Slide Show of 2015 Winners

A/HA/AA Hunter

Sponsored by Region 17
Enrico+++// & Kaitlin Payne
Reserve Champion
Redemption H+/ & Alyssa Tomusiak

A/HA/AA Sport Horse

Sponsored by Pringle Farms
KHA Jayda Kiss++/ & Shaylin Sharpe
Reserve Champion
Sur Teddy’s Magna+++// & Lorraine Prowse

Adult Amateur

Sponsored by Region 17
Lorraine Prowse & Sur Teddy’s Magna+++//
Reserve Champion
Lorraine Prowse & PA Julius Caesar+++//


Sponsored by Millarcom
Shaylin Sharpe & KHA Jayda Kiss++/
Reserve Champion
Kaitlin Payne & Enrico+++//


2015 WAHO Canada Trophy Winner

Sur Teddy's Magna +++// - 1997 grey gelding - owned, trained and shown by amateur Lorraine Prowse of Sherwood Park AB

After 15 years in the show ring together, Teddy and Lorraine have earned a very long list of awards
To the end of 2015, some of Teddy’s accomplishments include:
  •  95 National titles, the highest number earned by any Purebred Arabian, including 25 National Championships and 20 National Reserve Championships.
  •  129 Regional titles including 60 Champion and 27 Reserve champion honours earned at Region 17, Region 6 and Western Canadian Breeders.
  •  6 Scottsdale Championships, 7 Reserve Championships and 5 Scottsdale Top Tens.
  •  6 consecutive years on the Arabian Horse Association High Point Horse list, 2010-2015. Teddy has finished as high as second on the list in 2012.
  •  Teddy has earned the 2nd highest cumulative points in the AHA Horse Achievement program since its inception in 1965. To date, he has 2859.5 points with the distinction that these points have all been earned by a single rider.
  •  2014 AOTS (Amateur Owned Trained and Shown) Connection High Point Champion
  •  Recipient of the Arabian Horse Association Legion of Honor, Legion of Merit, Legion of Supreme Honor, Legion of Supreme Merit and Legion of Excellence awards.
  •  Recipient of both AHA Training and First Level Dressage awards.
  •  Multiple winner of the Region 17 High Point Sport Horse award.
  •  4 time Equestrian Canada Breed Sport Arabian of the year - 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015.
  •  2015 WAHO Trophy winner

Now, at 19 years of age, Teddy is still going strong. Whatever the show, whatever the class, this one-of-a-kind, once in a lifetime horse gives it his all. Always leaving a little something for that final trot down the rail!


Arabian Horse Association Awards

2015 AHA Youth of the Year

Sydney Young of Sherwood Park AB

•  Sydney Young has been active with the Region 17 youth for many years, serving as Youth Vice Director starting in 2010 and stepping up to Youth Director in 2014. She has encouraged many youth to participate, established a Youth Regional Show Committee and started numerous fundraising activities. At the national level, Sydney was elected AHYA Treasurer in 2015 and is also the Canadian Nationals Youth Committee Chair. She has also been active in her community, volunteering with a group of children with disabilities. Now, as the Region 17 Youth Coordinator, Sydney aims to be a positive influence on AHYA and a role model for those who aspire to become further involved in the Arabian horse community.
•  Natalie Alves of Mission BC, is the 2nd Runner-Up!
•  Criteria for this prestigious award are based on his or her achievements and contributions to the Arabian horse industry, AHA and his or her community.
Read more…

2015 AHA High Point Horse Award

Sshaq ++++// - 3rd overall
   owned by Deb Canaday of Juneau AK

Sur Teddy's Magna+++// - 4th overall
   owned by Lorraine Prowse of Sherwood Park AB

2015 AHA Adult Amateur Achievement Award

Kristen MacGarva of Ardrossen AB - 7th overall

2015 AHA Youth Achievement Award

Arianna Bell of Ardrossen AB - 8th overall

Click here for all AHA Acheivement Award Winners

2015 AHA Club of the Year

Aurora AHA won the Club Excellence Awards for Communications and Club Projects as well as Club of the Year. Each of these 3 awards come with a cheque for $500.


Equestrian Canada National Awards

2015 EC High Point Arabian

Sur Teddy's Magna +++//
   owned & ridden by Lorraine Prowse
    of Sherwood Park AB

   Teddy has won this award 4 years in a row!

2015 EC High Point Partbred Arabian

Lady’s Man WH
   owned by Dennis & Willa Miller
    of Calgary AB

2015 EC High Point Saddle Seat Rider

Mackenzie Leubner of Leduc AB


Breed Sport Canada is a committee of Equestrian Canada Sport Council

Breed Sport Canada Horse of the Year Award Criteria

• There are two(2) separate awards for Arabians: Purebred Arabian High Point and Partbred Arabian High Point
• Horses must be Canadian owned and registered to accumulate points
• Owners and Riders must be Equestrian Canada Sport Licence holders in good standing
• Horses must be entered in their National Breed Association awards program where applicable
• Points will be accumulated according to National Breed Association point tables
• Only the top five EC/USEF sanctioned events to be counted, with a minimum requirement of two Equestrian Canada sanctioned events
• Horses must have won at least one Championship
• Owners must send their nomination by December 1st to one of the addresses on the nomination form
     Horse of the Year Nomination Form

Breed Sport Canada Saddle Seat Rider of the Year Award Criteria

• Riders must be Equestrian Canada Sport License holders in good standing
• Riders must be Amateurs
• Riders must be a Canadian Resident, for a minimum of 1 year
• Only the top five EC/USEF sanctioned events to be counted, two of which must be Equestrian Canada sanctioned events
• Riders may ride more than 1 horse
• Riders may ride more than 1 breed
• Any class ridden in Saddle Seat attire may be included: English Pleasure, Country Pleasure, Saddle Seat Equitation etc.
• Riders applying for this award must send in the following information: Show name and date, Level of Show (National, Regional, Local), Rider placing, Number of entries in class. Saddle Seat promotional activities may be included for consideration in case of a tie
• Riders must send their nomination by December 1st to the address on the nomination form
     Saddle Seat Rider of the Year Nomination Form